Lehigh softball team, nine student-athletes honored for academics by NFCA

Lehigh softball team, nine student-athletes honored for academics by NFCA

This post was originally published on this site

BETHLEHEM, Pa. – Nine members of Lehigh’s 2019 softball team were recognized for their efforts in the classroom as the National Fastpitch Coaches Association announced its NCAA Division I Scholar-Athlete honors for the 2018-19 academic year. In addition, the Mountain Hawks also garnered NFCA All-Academic Team status for the nine time in 14 seasons for their team GPA last season.
The NFCA All-America Scholar-Athlete award is given to a player submitted by a member coach who achieved a 3.50 grade point average or higher during the 2018-19 academic year. Lehigh honorees included 2019 graduates Ashley Rabago and Jennifer Stoll, Hannah Edwards, current seniors Parker Boyd, Emily Preble and Lexi van Ooyen and sophomores Carley Barjaktarovich, Melissa Fedorka and Karsen O’Rourke.
All nine of Lehigh’s honorees were named to the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll following the 2019 season, with Edwards posting a 4.0 spring semester and Preble, Rabago and van Ooyen all eclipsing the 3.8 mark.
NCAA Division I had 1,769 honorees from its member institutions, who posted a GPA of 3.50 or higher.
A total of 140 Division I programs received the NFCA All-Academic Team Award, given to programs that boasted a team grade point average of 3.0 or better during the 2018-19 academic year. Lehigh, under the direction of head coach Fran Troyan, posted a 3.249 team GPA last year. Grand Canyon occupied the top spot with a 3.760 team GPA followed by Southern Illinois, Houston, Southeast Missouri State and Robert Morris.
The Mountain Hawks have one more home doubleheader on their fall slate as Lehigh will host East Stroudsburg on Saturday.
Like Lehigh Softball on Facebook and follow on Twitter and Instagram for exclusive updates throughout the season.

Print Friendly Version
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

error: Content is protected !!